Scouting’s Highest Honor

photo of a boy scout.Eagle Scout is the highest rank in Scouting and a distinction that will serve you throughout your lifetime. To become an Eagle Scout, each Scout must organize and complete a large-scale community service project called an Eagle Project, in addition to a wide range of wilderness and leadership tests. Each year, Eagle Scouts contribute more than $1 million in community service in Middle Tennessee alone.

What is an Eagle Scout?

The rank of Eagle is a performance-based achievement whose standards have been well-maintained over the years. Only about 4% of Boy Scouts achieve this honor, although more than one million young men nationwide have become Eagle Scouts since 1910.

How do I earn it?

To earn the Eagle Scout rank, a Boy Scout must fulfill requirements in the areas of leadership, service, and outdoor skills. Although many options are available to demonstrate proficiency in these areas, a number of specific skills are required to advance through the ranks—Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle. To advance, a Boy Scout must pass specific tests that are organized by requirements and merit badges.

Click here to view Eagle Scout scholarship Forms

Recognizing your Achievement

The Federal Bureau of Investigation will now provide special certificates for Eagle Scouts.

Requests should be sent to:
Executive Secretariat
Room 6236, J. Edgar Hoover Building
Federal Bureau of Investigation
935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20535-0001

Include the Eagle Scout's name as it should appear on the certificate, the address to which the certificate should be sent, and the Eagle's unit number and council name with your request.

View the Eagles of Middle Tennessee Council by clicking on the year below:


Eagle Walk

Join Now! Latimer - High Advennture Reservation