Trail of Tears

photo of a boy scout.

The Trail of Tears District serves Cannon and Rutherford Counties in the Eastern Service Area.

District Chairman:
Ed Arning
Phone: 615-268-9339

District Commissioner:

District Executive:
Mary Jared
Phone: 615-498-3630

Friends of Scouting
In June we achieved our Friends of Scouting goal! A huge thank you to everyone who helped along the way. Our Chairman, Ken Halliburton supported us from the very beginning and helped to push us over the top! We broke new ground in Cannon County and Smyrna and have laid the ground work to have a successful 2016 campaign as well. Thank you again to each and every person who helped in any way to ensure our success.

Trail of Tears is working to ensure quality support for our units. Since we have so many units, we need lots of help to reach all of them. We are building up our Commissioner staff in order to better serve our units. If you or someone you know is interested in being a part of our Commissioner team please contact Mary Jared. We would love to have you serve as a Unit Commissioner to help support our District. For more information about what it takes to be a Commissioner check out

BALOO and Leader Specific Training
September 19th @ 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Click here to register for BALOO Training

Click here to register for Leaders Specific Training
Barfield Park
Linda Veach: 615-848-4848
or Debra Johnson : 615-943-8332
Leader Specific Training
November 14th @ 8:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.
Trinity UMC
Debra Johnson : 615-943-8332
Scouting Expo September 19th @ 9:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. Barfield Park Linda Veach : 615-848-4848
Bobcat Day/Fishing Derby September 26th Boxwell Reservation Click here to register
Fall Cub and Family October 2-4th Boxwell Reservation  
Join Now! Latimer - High Advennture Reservation