photo of a boy scout.

The Cherokee District serves Goodlettsville, Joelton, Hendersonville, Inglewood and Madison in the Central Service Area.

District Chairman:
Tod Burnham
Phone: (615) 822-3072

District Commissioner:
Larry Smith
Phone: (615) 200-0621

District Executive:
Barrett Mohrmann
Phone: (615)383-9724 ext. 223

Boys from the Cherokee District met out at Boxwell Scout Reservation for our first annual fishing derby. For many of the scouts, this was their first experience at Boxwell, as they and their families fished around the lake. Professional Angler Brandon Lester talked with the boys, offering his fishing secrets and posing for pictures throughout the morning. The prize for biggest fish was garnered by a 14 inch fish, while the smallest went to one 2 inches long. More importantly, the boys had fun and many of them earned their Bobcat rank.

As the Cherokee District continues to grow, we’re happy to introduce two new units. Troop 58 in Joelton will offer a scouting opportunity to our westernmost side of the district. They meet Tuesday evenings at 6 p.m. at Greenville United Methodist Church alongside Pack 58. Tabatha Skipper and Pack 58 Cubmaster Dave Petenzi are helping guide the troop in its early stages, but more leaders are needed. Good Shepherd United Methodist Church in Hendersonville is also partnering with us to create a new venture crew. The crew will be available to young men and women from ages 14 to 21. For more information on both of these groups, please contact District Executive Barrett Mohrmann at 615-383-9724.

Cherokee Fall Camporee-Viking Wars
At the end of August, the Cherokee District held its annual fall camporee. With the theme of Viking Wars, scouts lashed together canoes to make Viking warships and hoisted wooden platforms between them. From the platforms, the boys launched their catapults at the shore to test their distance and accuracy. Despite a brief bout of lightning and two sunken ships, everyone had a great time. Congratulations are due to Troop 75 who won 1st place overall in the Viking Wars, Troop 157 who earned the Cherokee District Spirit Stick, and all the troops that participated. About 150 attended our fall camporee, and we are beginning to plan for our spring camporee in April. Your input for district outings is very valuable and appreciated, so please attend our district roundtable meetings the second Thursday of each month at 107 Twin Hills Dr., Madison.

October 8 @ 7:00 P.M. Youth Protection Training
Merit Badge Counselor Training
Rivergate LDS Church (107 Twin Hills Dr., Madison)
November 12 @ 7:00 p.m.
Merit Badge Counselor Training
Youth protection training Rivergate LDS Church (107 Twin Hills Dr., Madison)
December 3, 2015 Annual Business Meeting LDS Church in Madison (107 Twin Hills Drive)
Join Now! Latimer - High Advennture Reservation